

## THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

December 15, 2020

Hon. Carl E. Heastie Hon. Andrea Stewart-Cousins Speaker, New York State Assembly Majority Leader, New York State Senate Legislative Office Building, Room 932 Legislative Office Building, Room 907 Albany, NY 12248 Albany, NY 12247

Hon. Robert G. Ortt Minority Leader, New York State Senate Capitol Building, Room 315 Albany, NY 12247

Dear Legislative Leaders:

As we near the end of 2020 with a new legislative session quickly approaching, members of the Assembly Minority Conference are eager for an immediate return to the principles and processes of representative democracy on which our Constitution and our country were built.

Since March, Governor Cuomo has used his expanded emergency powers to implement, and then extend, numerous directives. We believe this grossly exceeds his executive authority.

As you know, Chapter 23 of the Laws of 2020 authorized a \$40 million emergency appropriation for the state to make necessary preparations to deal with the coronavirus outbreak. Also included in that legislation was a measure to add "disease outbreak" to the list of emergencies by which the governor assumed expanded authorities.

While the law granted the governor the ability to issue emergency directives, it did not empower him with the statutory authority to extend directives for an additional 30 days, which is permitted for the suspensions of laws.

Therefore, we are calling on you to review the legal authority granted to the governor and seek input from legislative colleagues on how to proceed in the best interest of all New Yorkers. At the first possible opportunity – hopefully on the first day of the 2021 Legislative Session, if not sooner – we encourage the passage of legislation such as <u>A.10546</u>, which would limit the governor's expanded powers and dramatically increase local authority during future emergencies.

This has been a year that none of us will forget. You, and all the members of the Legislature, have worked tirelessly to provide help to so many constituents in crisis. Those efforts will certainly continue as we move into the new session and new calendar.

As we look forward to 2021, we urge you to take immediate steps in the coming weeks to restore full representative democracy in New York State. From a philosophical, operational, and now legal perspective, it is clear that the Legislature must resume its rightful place as a co-equal branch of government.

Thank you for your consideration.

W:W_	a.	Barely
------	----	--------

Will Barclay Assembly Minority Leader

35 Edward Va

Edward P. Ra Mark C. Walczyk 19th Assembly

District 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Ongelo & Morenello

Andrew Goodell Angelo J.

Morinello 150<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 145<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Muchael of Nonio Mean Mc

Melissa "Missy" Miller

Ken Blankesbur

Michael J. Norris 20th Assembly District 144th Assembly District

Jocan

Jacob Ashby Kenneth D. Blankenbush 107<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 117<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Kail A Bebenu

Karl Brabenec Keith P. Brown

98th Assembly District 12th Assembly District

Maijori 1 Byuns

Kevin M. Byrne Marjorie L.

Byrnes 94<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 133<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Beff Bronch

Clifford W. Crouch Joseph P. DeStefano 122<sup>nd</sup>

Assembly District 3<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

David J. DiPietro Gary D. Finch 147<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 126<sup>th</sup>

Assembly District

Michael J. Fitzpatrick Christopher S. Friend 8<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 124<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

 $\mbox{Stephen M. Hawley Brian M. Kolb 139$^{th}$ Assembly District $131$^{st}$ Assembly District }$ 

Kieran Michael Lalor Peter A. Lawrence  $105^{\rm th}$  Assembly District  $134^{\rm th}$  Assembly District

Michael LiPetri Nicole Malliotakis 9<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 64<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Brian D. Manktelow David G. McDonough 130<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 14<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

John Mikulin Brian D. Miller 17<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 101<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Michael A. Montesano Philip A. Palmesano  $15^{\rm th}$  Assembly District  $132^{\rm nd}$  Assembly District

Anthony H. Palumbo Michael W. Reilly, Jr.  $2^{nd}$  Assembly District  $62^{nd}$  Assembly District

John J. Salka Colin J. Schmitt 121st Assembly District 99th Assembly District

Douglas M. Smith Robert J. Smullen 5<sup>th</sup> Assembly District 118<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Daniel G. Stec Christopher Tague  $114^{\rm th}$  Assembly District  $102^{\rm nd}$  Assembly District

Mary Beth Walsh 112<sup>th</sup> Assembly District