

NEW YORK STATE LEGISLATURE

July 23, 2015

The Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo **Executive Chamber** State Capitol Albany, NY 12224

Dear Governor Cuomo:

We are writing to you about an issue of importance for the future of horse racing in New York State, as well as for Saratoga Springs and the Capital Region.

In 2012, the New York Racing Association Reorganization Board was established for a threeyear period. The 2015-16 State Budget extended the maximum term of this Board for an additional year.

However, we feel it is important to move as quickly as possible to transition back to a nonprofit racing association. The Reorganization Board has done a good job and served its purpose, but the continuation of this temporary board is now raising serious concerns about its ability to make the necessary long-term decisions and planning that are essential for the continued success and stability of the horse racing industry.

In particular, we are very concerned about the potential negative impact on Saratoga Race Course, which is the crown jewel of racing and an essential part of the local community. As an example of the local concerns being expressed, please see the enclosed resolution by the Concerned Citizens for Saratoga Racing, as well as an editorial by a local newspaper.

We urge your attention to this matter, and request that actions be taken now to ensure that thoroughbred racing operations are returned to a revitalized NYRA as soon as possible. We look forward to working with you on this matter and other initiatives to maintain and improve New York's horse racing industry.

Cordially,

Hugh T. Farley Senator

High T. Farley bathy Marchione

Kathleen A. Marchione Senator

Carrie WZ

Carrie Woerner Assemblymember

- continued -

Page 2

John J. Bonacic Senator Chair, Senate Committee on Racing, Gaming and Wagering

James Sarah rether

J. Gary Pretlow Assemblymember Chair, Assembly Committee on Racing and Wagering

George A. Amedore, Jr. Senator

Nel D. Breshin

Neil D. Breslin Senator

Patricia A. Fahy Assemblymember

John T. McDonald III Assemblymember

Elizabeth O'C. Little Senator

ran yelo

Angelo Santabarbara Assemblymember

Daniel Stec Assemblymember

tedico

James N. Tedisco Assemblymember

Enclosurescc: William Mulrow, Secretary to the Governor Jim Malatras, Director of State Operations Alphonso David, Counsel