

THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

Will Barclay Minority Leader

May 18, 2022

Hon. Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State NYS Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Commissioner Rossana Rosado NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services Alfred E. Smith Building 80 South Swan St. Albany, NY 12210

Dear Gov. Hochul and Commissioner Rosado:

We write to request that you facilitate an immediate meeting of the Domestic Terrorism Task Force (DTTF). As you're aware, the DTTF was established in 2020 but despite being convened nearly two years ago, the task force has never met, commissioned any studies, or issued a single report or recommendation to help protect New Yorkers and prevent incidents of senseless violence.

The horrific and tragic shooting that took place in Buffalo last weekend, and the mass shooting on a Brooklyn subway last month are the most recent examples of the devastation domestic terrorism brings to our state and our nation. We respectfully request the task force meet now and begin the critical work of preventing any further heinous attacks in our communities.

It is troubling that the legislation passed in 2020 called for quarterly meetings, the generation of a preliminary report, and for a list of action steps to address the threat of domestic terrorism, yet the task force has failed to even begin its work. Even more troubling, the task force expires in November 2022, meaning its work will be needlessly truncated.

Among some of the charges of the task force are to study mass shooting incidents; recommend practices to identify potential mass shooters and prevent mass shooting incidents; and recommend practices to provide for the security of locations likely to be targeted by a mass shooter. Now, more than ever, New York State needs to take immediate steps toward these extremely important, life-saving goals.

In New York State, laws are passed for a reason. We urge you to call on this task force to finally begin working toward prevention and mitigation efforts as it was charged with at its inception. The mission of this panel is to examine, evaluate, and determine how to prevent violence in our communities. There can be no more delays, dysfunction, or missed deadlines in its work.

Sincerely,

Will- a. Baulay

Will Barclay Assembly Minority Leader

Joseph Angelino 122nd Assembly District

Kenn Blankenbush 117th Assembly District

Ari Brown 20th Assembly District

Kevin M. Byrne 94th Assembly District

Joseph P. DeStefano 3rd Assembly District

Jacob Ashby

107th Assembly District

Karl Brabenec

98th Assembly District

Keith P. Brown 12th Assembly District

Le IS

Marjorie L. Byrnes 133rd Assembly District

Maijorio I Syrus

David J. DiPietro
147th Assembly District



Michael Durso 9th Assembly District

Christopher S. Friend 124th Assembly District

Yarett Gandolfo
7th Assembly District

Joseph M. Giglio 148th Assembly District

Stephen M. Hawley 139th Assembly District

Kieran Michael Lalor 105th Assembly District

K. M. L

John Lemondes, Jr. 126th Assembly District hubarl Fyration

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8th Assembly District

Jeffery Gallahan
131st Assembly District

Jodi Giglio
2nd Assembly District

(man) Loodea

Andrew Goodell 150th Assembly District

Joshua T. Jensen

134th Assembly District

Michael Lawler 97th Assembly District

Brian D. Manktelow 130th Assembly District Non Mikmons

David G. McDonough 14th Assembly District

Brian D. Miller
101st Assembly District

Angelo J. Morinello 145th Assembly District

Philip A. Palmesano 132ndAssembly District

Michael W. Reilly, Jr. 62nd Assembly District

Colin J. Schmitt 99th Assembly District

Douglas M. Smith 5th Assembly District

1 Joyla M Josth

John K. Misulin

John Mikulin 17th Assembly District

Michael A. Montesano
15th Assembly District

(Nuchael of Norris

Michael J. Norris 144th Assembly District

Edward P. Ra 19th Assembly District

John J. Salka
121st Assembly District

Matthew Simpson 114th Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen
118th Assembly District

Christopher Tague 102nd Assembly District

Mark C. Walczyk 116th Assembly District Mi

Michael Tannousis 64th Assembly District

Mary Beth Walsh 112th Assembly District