Speaker Heastie Announces Leadership Positions and Committee Chairs for 2017-2018 Legislative Session
January 4, 2017

Speaker Heastie Announces Leadership Positions and Committee Chairs for 2017-2018 Legislative Session

Carl E. Heastie
Majority Leader
Joseph D. Morelle
Chair, Ways & Means
Herman D. Farrell, Jr.
Deputy Speaker
Earlene Hooper
Assistant Speaker
Félix W. Ortiz
Speaker Pro Tempore
Jeffrion L. Aubry
Chair, Committee on Committees
Vivian E. Cook
Assistant Speaker Pro Tempore
N. Nick Perry
Deputy Majority Leader
Phil Ramos
Assistant Majority Leader
Dov Hikind
Majority Whip
William Colton
Deputy Majority Whip
José Rivera
Assistant Majority Whip
Al Stirpe
Chair, Majority Conference
Michael Simanowitz
Vice Chair, Majority Conference
Steven Otis
Secretary, Majority Conference
Ron Kim
Chair, Majority Program
Carmen E. Arroyo
Chair, Majority Steering
Barbara Lifton
Vice Chair, Majority Steering
Edward C. Braunstein
Chair, House Operations
Michael Miller
Chair, Puerto Rican/Hispanic Task Force
Marcos A. Crespo


Chair, Aging
Donna A. Lupardo
Chair, Agriculture
William Magee
Chair, Alcoholism & Drug Abuse
Linda B. Rosenthal
Chair, Banks
Kenneth P. Zebrowski
Chair, Children & Families
Ellen Jaffee
Chair, Cities
Michael Benedetto
Chair, Codes
Joseph R. Lentol
Chair, Consumer Affairs
Brian Kavanagh
Chair, Corporations, Authorities & Commissions
Jeffrey Dinowitz
Chair, Correction
David I. Weprin
Chair, Economic Development
Robin Schimminger
Chair, Education
Catherine Nolan
Chair, Election Law
Michael Cusick
Chair, Energy
Amy Paulin
Chair, Environmental Conservation
Steve Englebright
Chair, Ethics & Guidance
Charles D. Lavine
Chair, Governmental Employees
Peter J. Abbate, Jr.
Chair, Governmental Operations
Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes
Chair, Health
Richard N. Gottfried
Chair, Higher Education
Deborah J. Glick
Chair, Housing
Steven Cymbrowitz
Chair, Insurance
Kevin A. Cahill
Chair, Judiciary
Helene E. Weinstein
Chair, Labor
Michele R. Titus
Chair, Libraries & Education Technology
Daniel Quart
Chair, Local Governments
William B. Magnarelli
Chair, Mental Health
Aileen M. Gunther
Chair, Oversight, Analysis & Investigation
Matthew J. Titone
Chair, Racing & Wagering
J. Gary Pretlow
Chair, Real Property Taxation
Sandy Galef
Chair, Small Business
Fred W. Thiele, Jr.
Chair, Social Services
Andrew Hevesi
Chair, Tourism
Daniel J. O'Donnell
Chair, Transportation
David F. Gantt
Chair, Veterans' Affairs
Michael G. DenDekker


Chair, Administrative Regulations Review
Aravella Simotas
Chair, Farm, Food & Nutrition
Addie Jenne
Chair, Government Administration
Thomas J. Abinanti
Chair, Reapportionment
Marcos A. Crespo
Chair, Rural Resources
Frank Skartados
Chair, Science & Technology
Francisco P. Moya
Chair, Skills Development & Career Education
Harry B. Bronson
Chair, State-Federal Relations
Robert J. Rodriguez