Santabarbara: Assembly Budget Expands Film Production Tax Credit

Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara (D-Rotterdam) has announced that the Assembly budget proposal includes language that would make Albany and Schenectady counties, among others, eligible for upstate film tax credits. Santabarbara has been fighting to make certain counties eligible for the funding since last year’s state budget was adopted.

“We already know that Albany and Schenectady counties are desirable locations for film production companies who are looking to put down roots,” Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara said. “These tax credits could be the difference between these companies moving here and creating jobs or setting up operations in another state.”

Specifically, the budget proposal adds Albany, Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren and Washington counties to the previously established list of upstate counties eligible for the Empire State Film Production Tax Credit in an attempt to lure more film production companies upstate.

Santabarbara pointed to an announcement in September that an out-of-state entertainment company is considering building a $68 million studio in downtown Schenectady at the former American Locomotive Company as one example that film production companies would jump at the opportunity to move into the region.

Last year, Santabarbara sponsored legislation to include these counties into the Empire State Film Production Tax Credit Program, but after passing both the Assembly and state Senate, the bill was vetoed by Governor Cuomo. In his veto message, the governor indicated that any expansion to the program should be decided in the context of the state budget.