Pheffer Amato Inducts New Student Council at P.S./M.S. 114

Belle Harbor, NY On Tuesday, November 9, Assemblywoman Stacey Pheffer Amato (D-South Queens) visited P.S./M.S. 114 to induct the newly formed Student Council. This school year marks the first year that P.S./M.S. 114 has had a student government. Pheffer Amato swore in the Executive Board: President Mikey O., Vice Presidents Domenica G. and William J., Treasurer Gerard T., and Secretary Lorenzo C.

“It was an honor to swear in the 2021-2022 Student Council at P.S./M.S. 114,” Pheffer Amato said. “It’s never too early to start getting involved in your community, whether that’s your school, neighborhood, city, or state. I would like to thank Principal Welsome and advisors Liz Glynn and Gina Machado for their guidance of the Student Council. I’m so proud of these student leaders and can’t wait to see what they do in the school year ahead!”

“We are thrilled to announce our new student government representatives and officers,” Principal Elizabeth Welsome said. “We value student voices, and we work hard to hear from students about what they want, need, and believe in. Our student government will be an excellent opportunity for students to represent themselves and their peers in determining goals and creating action plans. It is an exciting platform for students to build confidence and leadership skills and we are so very proud of all the students who ran for positions and for our newly elected representatives and officers.”

“After such a challenging year with COVID, I am so excited and proud to be back in school full-time and lead my classmates as president of the PS/MS 114 Student Council,” Mikey O., President of the Student Council, said.

P.S./M.S. 114 is located in Belle Harbor, NY and the Student Government comprises students from fourth to eighth grade. Pheffer Amato also inducted Class Representatives Joseph B., Abigail G., Mickey S., Margaret G., Thomas S., Emma D., William P., Patrick M., Madeline F., Cadie P., Ella G., Katherine W., Katherine E., Bonnie D., Emma M., Macayla H., James N., Madison K., Maya S., Kayla G., Chris F., Liz M., Emily S., and Sophia M.