Waterfront Revitalization: Building a Brighter Future for the Mohawk Valley

Assemblywoman Buttenschon’s legislation to designate the Ferguson, Moyer, Mud, Ninemile, Oriskany, Reall, Sauquoit, Six Mile and Wood creeks as “inland waterways” was signed into law in September (Ch. 278 of 2019). The new law makes the communities along the creeks eligible for Local Waterfront Revitalization Program (LWRP) funding.

These municipalities can now voluntarily prepare or adopt an LWRP, which opens up avenues to fund and support waterfront redevelopment plans. LWRPs allow communities to identify commercial and recreational opportunities, develop strategies to protect these waterways from environmental harm and find ways to better utilize waterfront property.

This law empowers local governments to invest in their future and create more economic opportunities for our families. Assemblywoman Buttenschon will continue working with local leaders and her Assembly colleagues to ensure Mohawk Valley families get their fair share of state resources.